Board of Directors

Sampo plc's Board of Directors, elected annually by the AGM of Sampo plc, uses the highest decision making power in Sampo Group between the AGMs. Sampo's Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the company in compliance with the law, the regulations of the authorities, Sampo's Articles of Association and the decisions of Shareholders Meetings.



Björn Wahlroos

Chairman of the Board Born 1952

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

Nordea Bank AB (publ), *Chairman of the Board;* UPM-Kymmene Corporation, *Chairman of the Board;* Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, *Board Member;* The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA, *Board Member;* Hanken School of Economics, *Chairman of the Board;* The Mannerheim Foundation, *Board Member;* Several other charitable institutions

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 5 April 2001. Wahlroos holds 11,864,687 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Eira Palin-Lehtinen

Vice Chairperson of the Board Born 1950

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

Sigrid Jusélius Foundation, *Deputy Board Member and Member of the Finance Committee;*

The Finnish Foundation for Share Promotion, *Chairman of the Board;* Föreningen Konstsamfundet, *Member of the Investment Committee*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 15 April 2008. Palin-Lehtinen holds 4,490 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Anne Brunila

Professor of Practice, Hanken School of Economics Born 1957

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

KONE Corporation, *Board Member;* Sanoma Corporation, *Board Member;* Stora Enso, *Board Member;* The Research Institute of the Finnish Economy ETLA, *Board Member;* Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA, *Board Member;* Aalto University Foundation, *Vice Chairman*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 9 April 2003. Brunila holds 8,848 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Jannica Fagerholm

Managing Director, Signe and Ane Gyllenberg Foundation Born 1961

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

Teleste Corporation, *Board Member;* Kelonia (Private Equity holding company), *Board Member;* Veritas Pension Company, *Member of the Supervisory Board;* Hanken School of Economics, *Board Member and Chairman of the Investment Committee;* Swedish Society of Literature in Finland, *Board Member*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 18 April 2013. Fagerholm holds 1,682 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Adine Grate Axén

Chairman and CEO, Adine Grate AB Born 1961

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

3 Scandinavia, Advisor and Executive Board Member; Nasdaq Stockholm, Chairman of the Swedish Listing Committee; Swedish Orphan Biovitrum AB (Sobi), Board Member; Swedavia AB, Board Member; AP 7, Vice Chairman of the Board; Madrague Capital Partners AB, Board Member; Alhanko & Johnson AB (BASE 23), Chairman of the Board; Sky, Board Member

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 14 April 2011. Grate Axén holds 4,317 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Veli-Matti Mattila

President and CEO, Elisa Corporation Born 1961

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

The Finnish Fair Association, *Member of the Supervisory Board;* Confederation of Finnish Industries EK, *Board Member and Member of Representative Assembly;* Service Sector Employers PALTA, *Chairman of the Board;* The National Emergency Supply Council, *Member;* FiCom, *Chairman of the Board*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 7 April 2009. Mattila holds 4,694 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Risto Murto

Chief Executive Officer and President, Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company Born 1963

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015

Wärtsilä Corporation, *Board Member;* Federation of Finnish Financial Services, *Board Member;* The Finnish Pension Alliance TELA, *I Vice Chairman of the Board;* University of Oulu, *Chairman of the Board (1 January 2016-)*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 16 April 2015. Murto holds 422 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.



Per Arthur Sørlie

President and CEO, Borregaard ASA Born 1957

Positions of Trust, 12/31/2015 Umkomaas Lignin (Pty) Ltd, *Chairman of the Board;* Inspiria Science Center, *Board Member*

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc since 12 April 2012. Sørlie holds 2,710 Sampo plc shares directly or through a controlled company.

Matti Vuoria, born 1951

Member of the Board of Directors of Sampo plc from 7 April 2004 to 16 April 2015.

When elected, all Board members were independent both of company's major shareholders and of the company.

Information as of 31 December 2015, unless stated otherwise. The CVs of members of the Board of Directors can be viewed at www.sampo.com/board.

This is a user defined extract from Sampo's Online Annual Report and this kind of extract can in no circumstances be referred to as Sampo's Annual Report or an extract thereof. Sampo's entire Annual Report is available at www.sampo.com/annualreport.